Reading Together

Robert Munsch

Posted on: August 12, 2009

I have discovered a new favorite children’s book writer: Robert Munsch.  His classic story, Love You Forever always brings me to tears.  I am not exagerrating.  I have actually hid our two copies of this book in our house because I seriously cannot read it without crying! (Munsch wrote it as a song for two stillborn babies he and his wife had).

 He has written tons of other great books that are hilarious! Munsch began telling his stories to children at the daycare he worked.  Eventually, he was convinced to get his stories published.  With Love You, Forever he became the bestselling children’s book author in Canada and later the United States. 

His books are wonderful for reading aloud.  Here are some of my favorites:

1Stephanie’s Ponytail

Stephanie is the trend setter at school and everyone blindly follows her, even when she shaves her head!

 

paperbagThe Paper Bag Princess

A dragon burns down the castle and when the princess goes to rescue her prince she realizes what a “bum” he is.

 

mortimerMortimer

Mortimer won’t go to bed and sings instead.  I love this story and I am trying to think of a way to incorporate into a storytime.  I am, however, afraid to read it to my daughter who already sings loud at bedtime already!

The Offical Robert Munsch Website

For more information and to listen to some of his stories  go to the Robert Munsch website.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Amber: Thanks for sharing my blog with your readers! You summed up the reason for the name better than I've been able to :) Good luck in the giveaway!
  • Musing: I wasn't able to finish Twilight myself, but I'm always glad to hear of young people being turned on to reading. :)
  • juliannahelt: I forgot about Twelve Hats for Lena. It is a great book! Thanks for mentioning it.