Reading Together

Best Books for Babies 2009

Posted on: April 10, 2009

Beginning with Books is an early literacy outreach organization in Pittsburgh, PA.  Every year they come up with the “Best Books for Babies”.  This year’s list has just been announced:

http://www.beginningwithbooks.org/best-books-babies-11

I haven’t seen them all yet but I imagine I will soon.  They usually put out a great list.  Here are two I would definitely recommend for babies and toddlers that are on the list this year.

buckle1,2 Buckle My Shoe by Anna Grossnickle Hines.  Great illustrations and a wonderful book to learn to count with.  My daughter and I spent quite a bit of time talking about the colors and counting with this book.

fingers1Ten Little Fingers, Ten Little Toes by Mem Fox.  Such adorable babies and a smooth flowing text perfect for reading aloud.

 

I also love to see the inclusion of a book about sign language for babies on the list (Baby Signs: A Baby-sized Guide to Speaking with Sign Language  pictures by Joy Allen) .  I am passionate about using sign language with babies and taught my daughter sign language.  I have another blog which I have not updated in forever but will once I begin to teach my son (on his way any day now) how to sign.  You can find it at http://signingmommy.blogspot.com.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Amber: Thanks for sharing my blog with your readers! You summed up the reason for the name better than I've been able to :) Good luck in the giveaway!
  • Musing: I wasn't able to finish Twilight myself, but I'm always glad to hear of young people being turned on to reading. :)
  • juliannahelt: I forgot about Twelve Hats for Lena. It is a great book! Thanks for mentioning it.
